Chemistry Postgraduate Society CPS

The Chemistry Postgraduate Society (CPS) was formed in 1997 and maintains an active profile today. The Society was originally formed by the postgraduate student body to give research students in the School a voice. The CPS ensures representation on School committees by research students and fosters collegiality across the School.

Staff and students are spread over two locations (the Masson Building and the Bio21 Institute). The CPS ;remains strong and active, holding many functions, including an annual dinner, trivia nights, BBQs, sporting events and fund raising activities. Functions are generally held every couple of months and are supported by the University of Melbourne Student Union.

Elected annually, the committee is made up of research students undertaking PhD, MPhil, MSc and BSc(Honours) degrees from across the school of Chemistry. The current committee is listed below.

Founding secretary Colette Boskovic is now a Senior Lecturer in the School.


The Chemistry Postgraduate Society representatives for 2015 are:

President: Calvin Lee
Secretary: Marija Petricevic
Treasurer: Kim Kwan
Communications Officer: Jaimys Arnott
Staff Rep: Liz Mills
General Committee: Ashleigh Farnsworth
Clare Gaskell
Gemma Gransbury
Paul Ionescu
Alex McDonald
Cameron Ong
Adrian de Rago
Emma Read
Kyra Schwarz
Anton Zalewski

Back row left to right: Cameron Ong, Paul Ionescu

Middle rows left to right: Adrian di Rago, Alex McDonald, Marija Petricevic, Calvin Lee, Kim Kwan, Gemma Gransbury, Emma Read, Liz Mills.

Front row left to right: Kyra Schwarz, Clare Gaskell, Ashleigh Farnsworth, Jaimys Arnott, Anton Zalowski.